Luis Balbino Arroyo Colón
Special Counsel

Practice Areas:

Corporate Law
Intellectual Property Law
Tax Law


Luis Balbino Arroyo Colón is an attorney and highly experienced legislative affairs and government relations professional with a strong policy background specializing in energy, science, financial, and economic issues.

Mr. Arroyo was a Legislative Director in the Puerto Rico Senate where he successfully drafted and helped navigate through passage legislation and amendments for the Chairman of the Puerto Rico Senate Government Affairs and Economic Innovation Committee. As an experienced drafter of legislation, bills, and regulations, he was the primary drafter of the Investment Companies Act of 2013 and drafter of the first bill to restructure Puerto Rico’s debt. Mr. Arroyo was also responsible for monitoring floor action on the Senate and House, and managing Legislative Affairs relations with the Governor’s Office regarding pending legislation.

Additionally, Mr. Arroyo served as General Counsel to the Senate Government Affairs and Economic Innovation Committee. He drafted committee reports and amendments for legislation referred to the Committee, such as administrative reform, public agency consolidation, permit process reform, and public debt restructuring.


Mr. Arroyo, has also been a consultant to the Puerto Rico hotel industry; advising on financial planning, labor issues, and government relations. He was a key contributor to a substantial management reorganization and corporate turnaround for a hotel and casino chain.

Mr. Arroyo is distinguished in Puerto Rico for being the youngest student to enroll in the University of Puerto Rico, at 11 years of age.


  • Eugenio María de Hostos School of Law, Puerto Rico, (J.D., summa cum laude, 2012)
  • University of Puerto Rico (Master of Science, Physics, summa cum laude, 2009)
  • University of Puerto Rico (B.S., Theoretical Physics, summa cum laude, 2006)


Bar Admissions:

  • Supreme Court for the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico
  • U.S. District Court of the District of Puerto Rico